Albion pair nominated for prestigious award

Ferguson and Caicedo's performances last season recognised by PFA.

By BHAFC • 17 August 2023

By Paul Hazlewood
Evan Ferguson grabbed his first goal of the season in our opening day win over Luton Town.

Striker Evan Ferguson as well as former Albion player Moises Caicedo are among the six nominees for the prestigious PFA Young Player of the Year award covering the 2022/23 season. 

The winner will be announced on 29 August.

The six nominees are:

Erling Haaland - Manchester City

Bukayo Saka - Arsenal

Gabriel Martinelli - Arsenal

Moisés Caicedo – Brighton and Hove Albion

Evan Ferguson – Brighton and Hove Albion

Jacob Ramsey - Aston Villa

Caicedo, who left the club this week to join Chelsea, and Ferguson were two of the stories of the season from the South Coast. Caicedo shone in his first full campaign under Roberto De Zerbi, dominating the midfield. Ferguson became the youngest Albion player to score in the Premier League at the age of 18 in a 4-2 defeat to Arsenal. The Republic of Ireland forward added a further five league goals in a promising season.

The youthful nature of the Premier League stars has resulted in a crossover for the nominees for the award.

Haaland’s remarkable campaign was made all the more astounding at the age of 23. The Norwegian could become the first player to win both PFA Players' Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year in the same season since Gareth Bale in 2013.

By Paul Hazlewood
Moises Caicedo is one of six nominees for the PFA's Young Player of the Year award.

As could Saka. The Arsenal man is nominated for the fourth season in a row after narrowly missing out to Manchester City’s Phil Foden for the past two years. He would be the first Gunner to win the award since Leah Williamson in 2015 and since Jack Wilshere in 2011 from the men's category.

Saka will have competition from his team-mate Gabriel Martinelli. The winger had a breakout season as part of Arsenal’s potent forward line alongside Saka and Odegaard, with 15 goals and five assists to his name. He would be the first Brazilian recipient of the PFA Young Player of the Year.

Jacob Ramsey would be the fifth Aston Villa player to win PFA Young Player of the Year, having been nominated for the second successive year. The England Under-21 international played 34 games and scored six goals as Villa qualified for the UEFA Conference League.