Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


7 March 2019

Shane Duffy
Brighton & Hove Albion defender Shane Duffy has been named in Mick McCarthy’s first provisional squad since his re-appointment as Republic of Ireland manager, ahead of their UEFA Euro 2020 qualifiers against Gibraltar and Georgia.
McCarthy’s men face Gibraltar on Saturday 23rd March, before hosting Georgia in Dublin three days later on Tuesday 26th March.
The 27-year-old will join a number of fellow Premier League players in the squad, which includes former Seagull loanee Stephen Ward (Burnley), Seamus Coleman (Everton), and Shane Long (Southampton).
Duffy has 25 senior caps to his name, and made his debut in a 1-1 draw with Costa Rica in June 2014.
The squad will be finalised ahead of the '3' FAI International Awards on Sunday 17th March, ahead of the first training session at the FAI National Training Centre on Monday 18th March.
The full squad is listed below. 
Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph (Middlesbrough), Keiren Westwood (Sheffield Wednesday), Caoimhin Kelleher (Liverpool), Kieran O'Hara (Macclesfield Town*), Mark Travers (Bournemouth).
Defenders: Seamus Coleman (Everton), Matt Doherty (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Cyrus Christie (Fulham), Richard Keogh (Derby County), John Egan (Sheffield United), Shane Duffy (Brighton & Hove Albion), Kevin Long (Burnley), Jimmy Dunne (Sunderland*), Enda Stevens (Sheffield United), Derrick Williams (Blackburn Rovers), Stephen Ward (Burnley)
Midfielders: Aiden McGeady (Sunderland), Alan Judge (Ipswich Town), James McCarthy (Everton), Jeff Hendrick (Burnley), Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), Alan Browne (Preston North End), Harry Arter (Cardiff City*), Glenn Whelan (Aston Villa), David Meyler (Coventry City*), Shaun Williams (Millwall), Robbie Brady (Burnley), Callum O'Dowda (Bristol City), James McClean (Stoke City), Daryl Horgan (Hibernian)
Forwards: Shane Long (Southampton), Sean Maguire (Preston North End), Ronan Curtis (Portsmouth), Scott Hogan (Sheffield United*), Aiden O'Brien (Millwall), David McGoldrick (Sheffield United), James Collins (Luton Town), Padraig Amond (Newport County).

Advertisement block