Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


12 July 2019

Kieran Cleeves
Simon Rusk's side have found out their opponents in the EFL Trophy.

A Brighton & Hove Albion under-21 side have been drawn in Group C for this season’s EFL Trophy, alongside Leyton Orient, AFC Wimbledon and Southend United.

Albion enter the competition as one of 16 invited category one clubs, joining the remainder of the 48 EFL teams in the Northern and Southern sections of the draw.

Simon Rusk’s team will meet two opponents from Sky Bet League One, and face newly-promoted Sky Bet League Two opposition, after Orient won the National League title in 2018/19.

This means trips to the Cherry Red Records Stadium, The Breyer Group Stadium and Roots Hall in the new campaign, with the Seagulls aiming to progress to the knockout stages of the competition.

Rusk’s side were placed in a group alongside Luton Town, Peterborough United and Milton Keynes Dons in 2018/19, and narrowly missed out on a place in the knockout stages due to goal difference.

The first set of group stage matches are currently scheduled for the week commencing Monday 2nd September, however confirmed details concerning dates, times and ticket details, will be announced in due course.

Advertisement block