Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


14 May 2018

Kieran Cleeves
Albion's under-23 squad gather round for a team talk.

Nine players from Brighton & Hove Albion’s under-23 squad have been retained for the 2018/19 season, while seven players have been released by the club.

Ben Barclay, Will Collar, Archie Davies, Danny Mandroiu, Owen Moore and Max Sanders have all been rewarded with new contracts.

Albion have also taken up the option to extend the contracts of Henrik Bjordal, Billy Collings and Ben Hall.

Academy manager John Morling said, “They’ve all deserved their new deals after a positive season, and we hope to see them continue their progression with the club.

“Some of the players may go on loan next season, but some will remain with the under-23s. They’ve fully earned their new deals, good luck to them and we’ll see how far they can go at Brighton.”

Meanwhile, David Ajiboye, Jonah Ayunga, Tyler Forbes, Dessie Hutchinson, Reece Meekums and Rian O’Sullivan have not been offered new deals; while defender Tom Dallison has already agreed to join Falkirk.

Morling added, “This is always the worst part of the season, but unfortunately these tough decisions have to be made.

“We thank them for their contributions to the club and wish them all the best for the future and we’ll keep in contact with them over the coming years.

“Hopefully they move on to a new stage of their career. It’s certainly not the end, it’s just a new chapter for them.”

Finally, four players from Albion’s under-18 squad will be moving into Simon Rusk’s under-23 team next season, and those players are Alex Cochrane, Aaron Connolly, Stefan Ljubicic and Tom McGill.

Advertisement block