Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


12 July 2017

Paul Hazlewood
Will Collar playing in the Checkatrade Trophy

Brighton & Hove Albion have been drawn alongside MK Dons, Oxford United and Stevenage, after the draw for the Checkatrade Trophy Group Stages was made today.

Albion have been placed into Group G in the Southern Draw, and will face two League One sides and one from League Two in the first stage of the competition.

Simon Rusk's young side enjoyed a successful run in last season's competition, after eye-catching wins over Leyton Orient and at AFC Wimbledon to reach the area quarter-final, where Albion were knocked out at Coventry City.

The tournament will continue with largely the same format as in 2016/17, but shall remain regionalised until the quarter-final stage, as opposed to round two last season, with the first round of group matches being played during the week commencing 28th August.

Albion's group stage fixtures will also be confirmed in due course, with Rusk's side set to play all their group games away from home.

Competition rules state that a minimum of six players from the starting eleven must be under the age of 21 as of 30th June 2017.

Southern Section

Group A Group B Group C Group D
Charlton Athletic Colchester United Bristol Rovers Exeter City
Crawley Town Gillingham Swindon Town Plymouth Argyle
Portsmouth Southend United Wycombe Wanderers Yeovil Town
Fulham Reading West Ham United Chelsea
Group E Group F Group G Group H
Cheltenham Town AFC Wimbledon Milton Keynes Dons Cambridge United
Forest Green Rovers Barnet Oxford United Northampton Town
Newport County Luton Town Stevenage Peterborough United
Swansea City Tottenham Hotspur Brighton & Hove Albion Southampton

Albion’s three group-stage matches have provisionally been arranged to take place on the weeks commencing 28th August, 2nd October, and 6th November.  

The dates for the knock-out rounds are listed below:

Round 2 – w/c 4th December 2017

Round 3 – w/c 8th January 2018

Quarter Final – w/c 22nd January 2018

Semi-Final – w/c 26th February 2018

Final – Sunday 8th April 2018


Northern Section

Group A Group B Group C Group D
Carlisle United Accrington Stanley Blackburn Rovers Crewe Alexandra
Fleetwood Town Blackpool Bury Oldham Athletic
Morecambe Wigan Athletic Rochdale Port Vale
Leicester City Middlesbrough Stoke City Newcastle United
Group E Group F Group G Group H
Coventry City Bradford City Lincoln City Doncaster Rovers
Shrewsbury Town Chesterfield Mansfield Town Grimsby Town
Walsall Rotherham United Notts County Scunthorpe United
West Bromwich Albion Manchester City Everton


Advertisement block