Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


17 January 2017

Albion's manager has been recognised for his exploits in 2016.

Brighton & Hove Albion manager Chris Hughton has been shortlisted to win the Coach of the Year Award at the Lycamobile British Ethnic Diversity Sports Awards, which take place at the London Hilton Park Hotel on Saturday 18th March.

The Seagulls boss is one of three nominees for the award, which also includes Ottis Gibson [cricket] and Sunil Birdy [boccia].

The awards, which are now in their third year, are organised by Sporting Equals, the national partner of Sport England and advisors to the Department of Culture, Media and Sport.

Sponsored by Lycamobile, the awards celebrate sporting excellence within the Black, Asian and Minority Ethnic (BAME) communities.

Awards will also be given out in the Lycamobile Sportsman of the Year and Sportswoman of the Year categories, where Sir Mo Farah and Dame Jessica Ennis-Hall have been nominated respectively.

The full list of awards and the respective shortlists are listed below:

Lycamobile Sportsman of the Year Award
Sir Mo Farah - Athletics
Mohamed Sbihi - Rowing
Maro Itoje - Rugby Union
Lutalo Muhammad - Taekwando

Sportswoman of the Year Award
Nicola Adams - Boxing
Kadeena Cox - Para Cycling and Athletics
Dame Jessica Ennis-Hill - Heptathlon
Sam Quek - Hockey

England Athletics  Coach of the Year Award
Chris Hughton - Football
Ottis Gibson - Cricket
Sunil Birdy - Boccia

Youth Sport Trust Young Sportsperson of the Year Award
Haseeb Hameed - Cricket
Harleen Kaur - WMKF Kick Boxing
Alice Tai - Para Swimming

UK Sport Inspirational Performance of the Year Award
Kadeena Cox - Para Cycling and Athletics
Ruqsana Begum - Muay Thai Kick Boxing
Azeem Rafiq - Cricket

Previous winners of the Lycamobile BEDSAs include Denise Lewis, Lewis Hamilton, Dame Jessica Ennis Hill, Moeen Ali and Frank Bruno.

For the latest news on the upcoming awards and to get involved, follow @BEDSAofficial and #BEDSA2017

Click here to cast your vote for Chris.

Advertisement block