Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


20 April 2017

The Championship's best eleven were chosen by PFA Members.

Four Brighton & Hove Albion players have been selected by their fellow professionals in the PFA Championship Team of the Year.

The best eleven in the Championship has been confirmed ahead of the 44th PFA Awards ceremony which takes place at the Grosvenor House in London on Sunday evening.

David Stockdale, Bruno, Lewis Dunk and Anthony Knockaert were chosen after PFA Members from 24 clubs voted on their Team of the Year, and Albion have more players included than any other Championship side.

For Stockdale, Dunk and Knockaert, this comes after their inclusion in the EFL Championship Team of the Season, with Albion’s goalkeeper and French winger also making the EFL Team of the Season, comprising of players from all three leagues.

For Bruno it is an impressive double, having made the PFA Team of the Year for the second successive season, recognising the Spaniard as one of the division’s most consistent performers. He is also the only player to keep his place from last season’s line-up.

The inclusion of the four players caps a memorable few days for the club, as the Seagulls secured promotion to the Premier League on Monday.

Albion’s players will receive their awards at the ceremony on Sunday evening, following their trip to Norwich City on Friday night, where they can secure the league title with victory at Carrow Road.

PFA Chief Executive, Gordon Taylor OBE commented on the prestigious awards ceremony, “The PFA Awards is always a special occasion and one of the biggest nights in football’s social calendar.
“For the winners who are honoured at the awards, there can be no greater personal accolade than that of being recognised by your peers; an honour to be cherished.”

Here is the full PFA Championship Team of the Year: David Stockdale; Bruno, Lewis Dunk, Jamaal Lascelles (Newcastle United), Ryan Sessegnon (Fulham); Anthony Knockaert, Tom Cairney (Fulham), Jonjo Shelvey (Newcastle United), Aaron Mooy (Huddersfield Town); Dwight Gayle (Newcastle United), Chris Wood (Leeds United).

Advertisement block