Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Barnes’s Penalty Admission

9 December 2013

Ashley Barnes confessed that he broke the cardinal penalty-taking rule against Leicester on Saturday by changing his mind at the last minute.

The striker – who grabbed a brace against the Foxes – missed a spot kick against the same side last year but made no mistake this time around. 

He told seagulls.co.uk, “I didn’t think about that last one I took against him (Kasper Schmeichel) and I was confident I would put it in the back of the net.

“I changed my mind at the last second as I saw him dive the other way – he dived a bit early. Luckily enough I got it down the middle.

“He almost got it, he touched it but it hit the back of the net so I’m not worried. These things happen but you shouldn’t really change your mind. 

“You should always have it in your mind where you are going to hit it but this time I changed at the last second and I was right.” 

The forward also said he relished the battle against City centre-back Wes Morgan but his main joy was with the excellent 3-1 win. 
 
“It was very physical and I didn’t get free-kicks for most of the afternoon but that is what I want to be up against – battles like that, week in week out.

“It was great to beat the top-of-the-table side after the poor defeat against Barnsley. We bounced back and we always do it against the big teams.

“We go into games thinking we can win them and last Tuesday was a blip but we put it right.”


Advertisement block