Dates and draws for EFL competitions confirmed

Carabao Cup and EFL Trophy details for the 2020/21 season finalised.

By Alex Stedman • 14 August 2020

By Paul Hazlewood
All Carabao Cup games will be available live in rounds two, three and four.

Details for two competitions for Albion's development and men's senior sides have been confirmed.

Carabao Cup 

The 2020/21 competition has seen a number of significant scheduling changes with two legged semi-finals being replaced by a single tie and the first four rounds scheduled to take place on consecutive weeks, kicking off in early September. 

Round One fixtures are scheduled to take place on Saturday 5 September, but due to the international window may be played on alternative dates. Rounds Two, Three and Four will be played on consecutive midweeks dates starting 15/16th September. 

Albion will enter the competition in Round Two. The draw for the Round One will take place on Sky Sports News on Tuesday 18th August 2020.

As per the previous two seasons, the Round One draw will be divided into a northern and southern section but will remain unseeded.  

The dates for the 2020/21 Carabao Cup are as follows:

• Round One - 5 September 2020 (alternative dates may apply)

• Round Two - 15/16 September 2020

• Round Three - 22/23 September 2020

• Round Four - 29/30 September 2020

• Round Five - 22/23 December 2020

• Semi-Finals - 5/6 January 2021 (tie to be played at the venue of Club drawn out first)

• Final - 28 February 2021

EFL Trophy

Brighton & Hove Albion’s under-21 side will find out their group opposition for the EFL Trophy for the new season when the draw group stages are made on Tuesday 18th August at 1.30pm on TalkSport2.

The competition will get underway in Matchday One during week commencing 7th September and culminates at Wembley Stadium for the final on Sunday 14th March 2021. 

The competition format remains unchanged, however, the title sponsorship with has come to an end so the competition will revert back to the EFL Trophy. 

The dates for the 2020/21 EFL Trophy are as follows:

• Matchday 1 - 8/9 September 2020

• Matchday 2 - 6/7 October 2020

• Matchday 3 - 10/11 November 2020

• Round of 32 - 8/9 December 2020

• Round of 16 - 12/13 January 2021

• Quarter-Finals - 2/3 February 2021

• Semi-Finals - 16/17 February 2021

• Final - 14 March 2021

Category One Invited Clubs taking part alongside Albion have now been confirmed as follows: 

Arsenal, Aston Villa, Chelsea, Fulham, Leeds United, Leicester City, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, Newcastle United, Norwich City, Southampton, West Brom, West Ham and Wolves.

Broadcasting plans for the Sky Bet EFL, Carabao Cup and EFL Trophy will be confirmed in due course.