Club news

Albion To Compete In Efl Trophy Next Season

By James Hilsum • 14 June 2019

Brighton & Hove Albion can confirm that the club will compete in the EFL Trophy next season.

Albion have accepted the EFL’s invitation to be one of 16 category one teams for a fourth consecutive season, which includes Liverpool and Manchester United for the first time.

Simon Rusk’s side were placed in a group alongside Luton Town, Peterborough United and Milton Keynes Dons in 2018/19, and narrowly missed out on a place in the knockout stages due to goal difference.

Competition rules state that a minimum of six of Albion’s players from the starting 11 must be under the age of 21 as at 30th June in the preceding season.

The club will only be able to include two players in the line-up that are over 21, who have made more than 40 senior appearances (as of 30th June in the preceding season).

The full list of category one teams taking part are as follows:

Arsenal Manchester City
Aston Villa Manchester United
Brighton & Hove Albion Newcastle United
Chelsea Norwich City
Everton Southampton
Fulham Tottenham Hotspur
Leicester City West Ham United
Liverpool Wolverhampton Wanderers

Alongside the 16 category one teams will be 48 League One and League Two clubs, and Albion will play all three of their group stage matches away from home.

As with last season, there will be 16 groups of four teams, and three points will be awarded for a win, and one for a draw. In the event of a match being drawn, a penalty shootout will be contested with the winning team gaining an extra point.

The Round One Group Stage draw will take place in July, with the first round of fixtures scheduled to take place the week commencing Monday 2nd September.

Latest News

More News