Club news

The Fa Announces Renaming Of Women's Football Pyramid

By James Hilsum • 26 February 2018

The FA has announced its decision in respect of the naming of Tiers one to four of the restructured women’s football pyramid from 2018/19 onwards.
Brighton & Hove Albion will compete in the FA Women’s Super League (currently named FA Women’s Super League 1) from next season, while FA Women’s Super League 2 will be called the FA Women’s Championship.

The full list of changes can be viewed below:

  • Tier 1 – FA Women’s Super League (currently FA Women’s Super League 1)
  • Tier 2 – FA Women’s Championship (currently FA Women’s Super League 2)
  • Tier 3 – FA Women’s National League - Northern Premier Division / Southern Premier Division (currently FA Women’s Premier League Northern Division / Southern Division)
  • Tier 4 – FA Women’s National League – Division 1 North, Midlands, South East, South West (currently FA Women’s Premier League Division 1 North, Midlands,  South East, South West)

The FA hopes that this rebrand will provide a clear separation between the top two tiers - full -time professional and part-time semi-professional - whilst also providing a more appropriate name for the third and fourth tier leagues.
Albion were granted a licence to compete in Tier One back in December, when the application process was open to clubs currently in FA WSL 1 and FA WSL 2.
The application process has now moved to an open phase, which is open to clubs from outside the FA WSL 1 and 2, and for those who didn’t apply in the first phase.
Applications for the remaining places in Tiers One and Two can be made up until Friday 9th March.

Latest News

More News